Indian Society of environmental Science and Technology

Vasundhara Mitra

In 1989 a few scientists from Bhabha Atomic Research Centre and Konkan Krishi Vidyapeeth (Dapoli) joined hands with officers from factories manufacturing chemicals & insecticides and Indian Society of Environmental Science and Technology was established. It operates thru’ two branches at Lote and Dapoli. The society has currently focused on Ratnagiri, Sangameshwar, Lanja and Rajapur districts. It tries to make students and the people aware of the damage caused by pollution to the natural resources (air, water, land) through various initiatives such as vermiculture, competitions, lectures and discussion forums, tree-plantation, collection of used flowers from temples, cleaning the surroundings of religious places after a fest etc.